Skip Navigation
Print Share

AFP Selects National Philanthropy Day Award Recipients


Contact: Shirley Brown

                                                                        (563) 585-2854


August 1, 2017


AFP Selects National Philanthropy Day Award Recipients

The Greater Tri-State Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) has selected its award recipients for National Philanthropy Day 2017. The honorees are: 

  • Outstanding Philanthropic Organization – R.J. McElroy Trust
  • Outstanding Individual Philanthropist – Bob and Marilyn Hoefer
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser – Carolyn Gantz
  • Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy – Maddie Tomecek
  • Outstanding Professional Fundraiser – Andy Schroeder, Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Recipients of the National Philanthropy Day awards demonstrate the highest standards of philanthropy, using their talents to benefit important non-profit organizations in the Tri-State community. Nominations for the awards were accepted earlier in the year, and a committee of Dubuque-area community leaders selected the awardees.

The awards will be presented at the Annual National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, November 15, at the Grand River Center in Dubuque. Amy Gilligan, executive editor for the Telegraph Herald, will be the keynote speaker.